<< Back

Arkansas Tech Mascot Committee announces recommendation

Arkansas Tech Mascot Committee announces recommendation

After an afternoon session on Tuesday, Aug. 7, to review poll results, comments and feedback, the Arkansas Tech mascot committee has made a recommendation to President Robert C. Brown to begin the process of creating logos for the long standing nicknames Wonder Boys and Golden Suns. 

The committee was in consensus with Dr. Brown that on-line poll results along with many comments, suggestions and feedback were inconclusive and in fact pointed to a division among Tech constituents on the idea of adopting a university-wide mascot.  The group agreed that the information did not support a fundamental change at this time. 

Dr. Brown has accepted the committee recommendation.  He thanked them for their willingness to work on behalf of the university and asked that they oversee the design process for Wonder Boys and Golden Suns with the assistance of a professional collegiate identity firm.

The members of the mascot committee are:

Dr. Gary Biller

Vice President for Student Services

Arthur Douglas

Current football team member

Gregg Grant   

President of the Alumni Association

Cody Hill

2006-07 Student Government President

Jayne Jones

Vice President for Development

Max Mathis  

Former basketball player

Stephanie Strack Mathis

Member of the ’91 and’92 NAIA National Championship Women’s Basketball Team

Julie Morgan

Director of Alumni Services

Steve Mullins

Athletic Director and Head Football Coach

Susie Nicholson

Assistant to the President for University Relations

Katie McCormick Papasan 

Member of the women’s basketball team 2004-07

Dr. Stanley Teeter

Former football player, former member of the board of trustees and former team physician

John Whiteside

Member of the ’71 national runner-up football team

The 13-member committee met for the first time in May and was asked to review the history of Arkansas Tech nicknames and mascots, analyze the current situation and make a recommendation for one of the following: adopt a university-wide mascot; create visual identities for current nicknames; or stay the same.